Summer Bucket List: Go to the SPCA

Well, today I went to the SPCA! If you don’t know what that is, it stands for Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. It’s a shelter where stray pets go, and people can go online and look who’s there, and also go in just to visit the animals and play with them, and even adopt one (or multiple).

image

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m an animal lover. Driving is dangerous because I get distracted by dogs, and I would be vegetarian if I weren’t anemic. So the SPCA is basically Heaven to me.

When I went I was with two of my friends, Rose and Charlie (they’re siblings!). The dog room was closed so we could only go play with the cats, which was totally fine, and we stuck to only one room because there were other visitors there at the same time.

In the room we went to there were 11 cats, each with their own cage. Only one was allowed out at a time because a couple of the cats would fight with each other. In order, the cats we had out were Dylan, Mindy, and Jax. Dylan was an all black cat that was already out when we got there and he was very playful. Mindy was the first cat we took out, a long haired cat with black fur and grey areas behind her ears and at the end of her tail.

image

Our favourite kitty of the night would definitely be Jax, the last one we took out. He was also black, quite small, and very playful and friendly. He was extremely playful and loving, and wasn’t afraid of us.

image

I absolutely loved my time at the SPCA, and I highly encourage anyone and everyone to visit their local version of the SPCA and spend time with some animals. I know I’ll be returning again to see the cats, and maybe even get to see the dogs.

 

Leave a Reply

